Twelve states have stepped into action and implemented their tax credits. The purpose of this implementation was to help support families dealing with heavy inflation. If you are a resident in one of the twelve states, the amount of $100 to $1000 tax credit could be for you. But to become eligible, you need to have a child.
This year, the amount of the federal child tax credit decreased to $2,000 per child. After the pandemic, the amount increased temporarily to $3,600.
The amount of money to be received is determined based on income level, marital status, and the number of dependent children living in your household.
The Federal predicted getting approximately 2 million children out of poverty and hunger each year.
WHAT IS THE BACKGROUND OF THE FEDERAL CTC?
It was first created in 1997 as part of the Taxpayer Relief Act. The tax credit was worth $400 per child under the age of 17 and was increased to $5oo per child under 17 in the year 1998.
However, in 2001, the tax credits increased. It became refundable if you coordinate with the Earned Income Tax Credit.
In the year 2012, the tax credit changed again to $1,000 causing the income threshold to grow.
In the year 2017, it doubled to $2,000. Limits to the refundable amount are set to $1,400 per child.
During the pandemic, additional support was given to American families causing the child tax credit to expand to $3,000 per child up to 17 years old and $3,600 per child under six years old.
Even before the pandemic, many states have already adopted their port to parent and continue today.
There are nine states (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,d Vermont) that were elected to make their child tax credits refundable.
Here’s what you need to know about each tax credit, depending on what state you live.
1. CALIFORNIA ($1,000)
The child credit tax in California offers $1,000 for each family with an income of less than $25, 000. If your income is between $25,000 and $30,000 you will be receiving less than $1,000.
2. COLORADO (varies)
In Colorado, beginning in January, 5 percent to 30 percent will be given to each qualifying child under the age of six.
3. CONNECTICUT ($250)
The amount of $250 per child up to $750 maximum is given to eligible families in Connecticut.
Specifically, a 10 percent rebate is phased out for every $1,000 over certain income thresholds. Single filers will receive $100,000, $160,00o for the head of households, and for joint filers an amount of $200,000.
4. IDAHO ($205)
The city of Idaho also provides support of $205 to qualified families. The city strictly outlined Section 24(c) of the Internal Revenue Code to determine each qualifying child.
5. MAINE ($300)
In Maine, families are given support, especially those living in poverty to have the money for their necessities such as f d and rent. Eligible families will receive $300 per qualifying child and dependent.
6. MARYLAND ($500)
In Maryland, parents may receive $500 per child under the age of 17 given that the child has a disability. Income should be $6,000 or less to qualify.
7. MASSACHUSETTS ($180)
Massachusetts is also offering support to parents through child credit. The amount of $180 for one dependent and $360 for two or more dependents is given to parents. The dependents are children under 12 years old, adults 65 or older, and anyone with a disability living in the household.
8. NEW JERSEY ($500)
New Jersey offers $500 per child under age six to families with an income no greater than $30,000.
The credit is phased out by $100 for different income brackets.
The different income brackets are determined to phase out credit by $100.
The amounts are as follows:
- $400 per child for taxpayers with income between $30,000 and $40,000
- $300 per child for taxpayers with income between $40,000 and $50,000
- $200 per child for taxpayers with income between $50,000 and $60,000
- $100 per child for taxpayers with income between $60,000 and $80,000
9. NEW MEXICO (varies)
In New Mexico, any taxpayer’s minor child or stepchild would be a qualifying child. The range of credits to be received is based on income and the amount to be given varies between $75 and $175.
10. NEW YORK (varies)
New York also extends help to some families through child credit. 33 percent of the portion of the federal child tax credit and federal additional child tax credit can be earned by qualifying children.
If you are a tax filer with qualifying children and an income of less than $110,000 for married couples and $75,000 for singles, you will receive a credit of $100 multiplied by the number of qualifying children at least age four.
11. OKLAHOMA (varies)
In Oklahoma, five percent of the federal child tax credit from their state is set to be received by married parents jointly filing, given that their adjusted gross income does not exceed $100,000.
12. VERMONT ($1,000)
Vermont parents can receive $1,000 per dependent child under age five and doe earn higher than $125,000.