Ahead of Saturday's UCL final, GOAL profiles the top 10 African players who have won the European Cup.

Abedi Pele The Ghanaian spent many years playing in Europe, The Black Star also won the African Player of the Year award three times and was also named in Pele’s top 100 greatest footballers of all-time list.

Sadio Mane His performance to dispatch Bayern Munich at the Allianz Arena was outstanding, with the Senegal forward also proving during the 17-18 campaign that he was more than capable of terrorising Europe's best defences with 10 goals in 11 UCL outings.

Bruce Grobbelaar He became the first independent African to lift the prestigious European Cup after the Reds defeated AS Roma in a penalty shootout – in which the Zimbabwean showed off his famous spaghetti legs in an attempt to distract the opposing penalty takers.

Mohamed Salah Salah has been simply phenomenal since arriving in English football; he's a three-time Golden Boot winner, and has played a key role in Liverpool's return to prominence in recent years.

Sammy Kuffour Kuffour is one of Africa’s most decorated footballers, having won six Bundesliga titles, four German Cups, and the Intercontinental Cup too, along with his Champions League medal.

Michael Essien The no-nonsense, tough-tackling midfielder was key to Chelsea’s success following the appointment of Jose Mourinho in 2004, helping the club to a number of Premier League and FA Cups.

Nwankwo Kanu Nwankwo is also well known for his stint at Arsenal, but winning a Champions League medal with Ajax will certainly be one of the Nigerian’s best memories.

Didier Drogba Drogba’s best moment arrived in the 2011/12 campaign, when he netted a late equaliser in the Champions League final against Bayern Munich, before going on to score the winning spot-kick as the Blues claimed their first title in Europe.

Yaya Toure, The powerhouse is fondly remembered for playing centre-back in that final against Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo, when he silenced the Portuguese superstar for the entire 90 minutes. Samuel Eto'o, The Cameroonian also became the fourth player to win the trophy two seasons in a row, after helping Inter Milan claim the title in the 2009/10 campaign.