House Leaders Step Down, Pass Leadership to Young Lawmakers

Wednesday’s leadership elections appear to be going well as Democrats have united around a group of three youthful leaders to succeed House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and her team.

House Leaders Step Down

Many ambitious politicians, both old and young, might have publicly fought for the chance to head House Democrats following the resignation of Nancy Pelosi, as reported by NBC News

Representatives Hakeem Jeffries, 52, from New York; Katherine Clark, 59, from Massachusetts; and Pete Aguilar, 43, California, were eyed for the top three positions without challenge or publicity.

Some of the younger members are unhappy that members such as 82-year-old Whip Jim Clyburn from South Carolina remained in their seats instead of choosing to step down like Pelosi and 83-year-old Majority Leader Steny Hoyer.

Adam Schiff, the intelligence committee chairman, made it clear he would not run for House leadership and would concentrate his efforts on pursuing a senate race. 

Hoyer, a Marylander who has held leadership positions since George H.W. Bush took office, declared he would forgo running for president and instead intends to rejoin the influential Appropriations Committee.

Pramila Jayapal of Washington, the chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, who represents about 100 House liberals, decided to seek re-election rather than challenge Clark for the No. 2 leadership position.

Nancy Pelosi

After becoming the first woman elected as Speaker of the House way back in the year 2007, Nancy Pelosi is the 52nd House Speaker of the U.S. Congress, according to her official website

Under two Democratic administrations, Pelosi served as the primary draftsperson for landmark legislation like the American Rescue Plan and the Affordable Care Act. Pelosi is now in her fourth term pushing for higher wages, lower prices, and more jobs for American families.

The lawmaker has served as the 12th District of California’s representative to Congress for 35 years. She has been the House Democratic leader for 19 years and was formerly the party’s whip.